Schools

For some reason or other I am discovering that I am fascinated by old and defunct, one-room schoolhouses.  Most likely because my mother went to one, in Fitchburg.

My mother’s school, Camp Badger, began as a one-room school but eventually was converted into a school with two to four classrooms and a library.  Then they added on a cafeteria/gym.  But, they still had to go outside to use the boys and girls’ outhouses.

I remember my mother taking my sister and I to see her school when I was still in elementary school.  It wasn’t easy to see, though.  Because it had been decorated as a haunted house for Halloween.

Source: Schools

Author: Rafini's Voice

Pop culture enthusiast and poet; Writer of fiction, non-fiction, personal essays and memoir; Still life photographer.

Leave a comment

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

The Motivational Dope

Less boring side of personal development

shivashishspeaks

#Snippets,#tech updates,#poetry

The Brevity Blog

Essays Exploring craft and the writing life